top of page
  • rapuatereokiaputa

He wa huritau toi: A time of reflection

Updated: Jul 20, 2020

Co-vid 19 has taught me to have a greater appreciation for what I have.

It has helped me focus more on the things that matter most rather than what I do not have. For example, I have noticed through experiencing the uncertainty of the Covid pandemic and lock-down that there will always be things that are certain and reliable. It is possible to find peace despite uncertainty.


Whānau are certain and reliable. Not only the ones here and afar, but our whānau that have passed on. Their legacy of persistence and faith despite anxiety, is remembered. A whānau member recently posted a story of an ancestor who lived through the aftermath of the 1880's Tarawera eruption. He persisted and continued to work to provide for his family, despite losing his livelihood. On Anzac Day I remembered my great grandmother who sent 3 sons to fight in the Māori Battalion. My maternal grandfather fought in the RNZAF during WW2. Thinking of them reminded me that sacrifices are necessary to save lives and preserve our freedom. Maybe Covid was our opportunity to do likewise.


We all have ancestors who overcame significant challenges to come to this country. We have their DNA. That tells me we can overcome anything. We may be fearful at times, but we can still choose to be courageous and intentional in the way we live and interact with others.




Covid reminds me I have responsibilities: to myself, my whānau, my community, my nation, and to my Heavenly Parents. As a parent, I have the responsibility to instil confidence in my children, even if I'm feeling anxious or afraid. Linking in more strongly with my faith has kept me centered.


Covid has taught me greater gratitude. Some of the gifts that have come from lock-down include the stillness and peace due to less traffic, industry and pollution. The night skies were clearer, and stars seemed brighter. There were more birds around, and nature seemed to regenerate. It was great to just slow down. I am even more appreciative of good relationships. And fun. I think we have played more games as a family this last 4-6 weeks, than we usually do in a year. However, I do realize how much I miss being able to meet and connect with people outside of my bubble, but am glad I can still connect through technology.



Finally, Covid has taught me the value of good communication, good leadership, good sense and good hearts. As a country we fared much better than other countries because we had great government, civic and health professionals working in tandem with us to ensure we "flattened the curve". As citizens we followed them, stayed safe and were kinder. As a country we accomplished much in a short time, so looking ahead, I am confident we will be able to rebuild our country despite whatever challenges lay ahead.


Aroha Igatia

Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāti Maniapoto

BA majoring in Psychology, minor Māori Studies

Third year, Undergraduate, Distance student


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page