top of page
  • rapuatereokiaputa

Whaiwhakaaro

Kia ora Koutou,

Ko Ashleigh Te-Aroha Witehira toku Ingoa, Ko Ngapuhi te Iwi.


It is an understatement to say that I have learned a lot, when really It feels like I have a whole new brain of information and it’s only my first year.


This year for me has been one of the highlights of my life as I have finally been able to start the journey towards my passion, psychology. Being a young mum of twins at the age of seventeen has meant my educational journey came to a sudden halt when I found out I was pregnant. Due to past issues I didn’t have all my NCEA levels, and when my kids were three weeks old, I put myself back into school, a teen parent unit called Rangiatea, and completed my NCEA levels 2 and 3 along with university entrance and other useful qualifications as well as holding

down a job. Getting to the point where I am finally at university has been a dream come true and everything, I have worked for is now at my feet.


This year I have learned a lot about not only psychology but also myself. I learned how to manage my workload as a full-time student and still had the capacity to be a present mother and partner to my family. Having a set routine and times where study is crucial helped a lot, as well as incorporating exercise into my daily routine, helped keep my mind sharp and clear it from any study stress I was having. A good support system was also important around my studies. My parents and partner were amazing with helping with the kids when I had assessments, exams or needed a break if things were overwhelming.


This was also a year for me for reconnecting with my Māori identity. Although most of my family a fluent in Te Reo, I had never picked up the language or engaged fully in Māori studies. With amazing support from Ariana and Te Ra, I was able to reengage with my Māori identity and take the first step towards learning Te Reo.


Overall, my first year of university was both rewarding, challenging and fulfilling as I am one step closer to my dream career and where my passion lies.


Ashleigh Witehira

First Year Bachelor of Science majoring in Psychology



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page