top of page
  • rapuatereokiaputa

2020 Journey

My first year at Massey was quite different from how most university students spent their first year. Lockdowns and having classes online were something no one was expecting at the start of 2020. Despite the crazy year, I quite enjoyed it. When I applied for Massey, I was unsure and a little nervous about how I would do within the world of academia because it seemed like a big step for me. Having gone through it though, I feel more confident in my ability to carry out research and I am quite thankful for the support that I have through Massey and whanau as they played a big role in helping me throughout the year. Studying itself can be quite challenging, especially when there are deadlines to be met. Having the classes online also made studying more challenging as there is not as much motivation as when you are at Massey. Online learning also lets you watch the lectures whenever you want as opposed to having to go to the lectures otherwise you would miss out. Because of online learning, I had a lot more workload at the end of the semesters as I had a lot of lectures to catch up on.


Even though a lot of it was online, this year has taught a lot. It has shown me what is to be expected of me in the following years, such as the workload and the need to set a solid schedule for studying (having too many all-nighters is not ideal), especially if I want to make time for other things in life. The things I have learned at Massey have also taught me a lot of shocking and interesting information such as what happened at Parihaka and how bad New Zealand’s freshwater systems are (and I thought our freshwater systems were doing great!). The knowledge that I have gained thus far at Massey is quite eye-opening. I am currently studying psychology at Massey as I have a desire to understand people better and help them to reach their potential, including myself. It is quite interesting learning about why we behave the way that we do. Along with knowledge, I have also gained good friends from being at Massey.


JT

First Year Bachelor of Arts majoring in Psychology

Whanganui

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page